The English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS) consist of the following sections:

  1. (a)Introduction
  2. (b)School district responsibilities
  3. (c)Cross-curricular second language acquisition essential knowledge and skills
  4. (d)Proficiency level descriptors*

This document is a slightly reformatted version of the English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS) rule text, which is available on the Texas Education Agency Web site.

*Designed for the professional development series, this version of the ELPS includes the proficiency-level-descriptor charts format found in the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS), rather than the list format found in section (d) of the ELPS rule text.

Click on Elps Logo to download a file.

Return to Home Page | Support | Adobe Reader